Conferencing While Introverted (Some Tips)

Something that I hear a lot of first-time museum conference attendees say is that they’re worried about being an introvert in such a demanding, extroverted environment. So when I got the chance to write a blog post for the American Alliance of Museums as a 2019 Social Media Journalist, I thought I’d share some things I’ve learned about conferencing while introverted while attending twelve conferences last year.

Read my tips on the AAM blog

Because it was the largest conference I’ve ever attended, #AAM2019 in New Orleans was the most challenging of the conference experiences I had during the year. The conference was fantastic, and I’m so glad I went. But I’m not going to lie to you and say it was easy to hang out with five thousand people for three days. I had to pull out all my conferencing-while-introverted tools, some of which I share in the AAM post.

If you yourself are introverted, hopefully these tips will help you master the art of conferencing, or convince you to attend a conference if you weren’t sure it was for you. If you are more extroverted, perhaps this post will help you improve the conference experience for your introverted colleagues.

READ THE FULL POST HERE

--

--

Hannah Hethmon (Better Lemon Creative Audio)

Owner @ Better Lemon Creative Audio, where I produce podcasts about and for museums & other cultural nonprofits https://www.betterlemonaudio.com/